Working with Others on Indigo Project Files

Using your prototypes

Overview

Indigo Studio supports sharing your prototypes in different ways to foster collaborative work. Whichever way you choose to work with your colleagues, remember Indigo only tracks changes in the screen or storyboard assets (images). If you are working on a design and an image is changed, you will see the new image. But if you have an open design file, Indigo won't warn you about any changes made to that file by your colleagues or from outside Indigo. So, always make sure you're working on the latest version of your design.

Indigo does not currently integrate with any team/file collaboration systems, nor does it prevent you from accidentally deleting or overwriting someone's work. It is your responsibility to coordinate with team members and/or use a collaboration tool that helps you avoid such problems. In this topic, we only suggest different ways that you could do this.

Different Ways to Collaborate

These are different ways you can work with others on your prototypes:

Using file sync services

You can use Dropbox, SkyDrive, Google Drive or other file sync services to work collaboratively on a project. As far as Indigo is concerned, the files are just local files on your computer, so as long as you have access to the folders and files, it should work just like a regular project.

Sharing on a networked drive

Just mark the files you want as shared and grant the right permissions for others in the same network to have access to work on the designs. It may help to map the network as a drive on your computer for easier reference and access. See your operating system help and/or your network administrator if you are having trouble with this.

Using source code control systems

You may want to work with Git, TFS, or other source control systems to manage collaborative work on your Indigo projects.

When working with TFS, remember to check out the files you want to edit. Otherwise, they will be read-only and you won't be able to edit them with Indigo.

When working with Git, you should avoid merging Indigo documents. To do this, have Git treat Indigo Studio files as binary. This way, when a conflict happens, you'll have to choose manually between the conflicting files.

Add a .gitattributes file on the root of the repository, with the following content:

*.screen binary
*.screenpart binary
*.stylesheet binary
*.story binary
*.proj binary

Also, to avoid committing temporary files, add the following lines to the .gitignore file:

.autorecover
share.history

Sending your project files

You can export your whole project or selected files to work with others. Alternatively, you can access your project files by opening their containing folder and share them by simply zipping and sending the files to your colleagues. For more information on how to export and access your files, see Exporting Designs.

Learn More